Hit and run Accidents
A “hit and run” is defined by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) as any event when “a driver crashes into another vehicle, a pedestrian, or onto private property, then leaves without identifying himself, rendering aid, or both.” A hit and run occurrence is not only extremely disrespectful, but it’s also dangerous and illegal – the NHTSA reports that 11 out of every 100 traffic accidents throughout the U.S. are hit and run accidents. If a hit and run accident changed your life, contact the Sargent Law Firm today for help from an experienced Chula VIsta auto accident attorney.
Due to hit and run accidents, in the Chula VIsta area, 23 people were killed, with many victims injured badly just in 2014 alone. Many of these hit and run accident involved cards and pedestrians or cyclists, but it’s not uncommon for it to happen between two vehicles, which can leave the law obeying citizen confused and not sure where to go for help.
How Do I Go About Finding Help After A Hit & Run?
Certainly there are many times where the driver will leave the accident almost immediately. Other times, the motorist at fault will linger around before deciding to decline the procedures of exchanging info between the other driver. If you are in a position where a hit and run has occurred, do your best to document everything you can about the scene of the accident, the driver, the vehicle, and the license plate. At this point, contact a local police station to file a police report with as much information as possible.
At this point, it’s unfortunate that you must prepare for an uphill battle with your insurance company; in California, the “bright-line rule” (explained below) was adopted in regards to the insurance coverage after a hit and run accident.
Uninsured Driver Coverage for Hit and Run Incidents
After a hit and run, only one insurance company and policy will be involved, which is of course the victim’s, having the policyholder which will be mandatory to create a claim under his/her Uninsured Motorist (UM) provisions. There are many coverage rules that are considered as bright-line rules, adapted by the California Legislature that apply directly to a coverage for a hit and run accident, including:
• There has to be physical contact between the victim and the driver at fault.
• The driver insured has to file a police report within 24 hours of the hit and run accident.
• The insured individual is required to file a claim with the insurance company during the first 30 days after the incident.
Ultimately determined by the legislature that hit and run incidents have become a common drain in cost on the insurance industry as a whole, these rules are fulfilled to help those who are in a sincere hit and run accident. After a hit and run, call attorney Ryan Sargent to help for a fast and smoot recovery. Insurance coverages like uninsured driver coverage, health insurance, possible other options could be accessible to you.
Don’t Hesitate to Call a Chula VIsta Car Accident Lawyer Today!
If you’re unsure what to do after you’ve been a victim in a hit and run accident, in the Chula VIsta area, don’t hesitate to call the Sargent Law Firm now: 855-209-3997.