Hit and Run Accidents
The NHTSA, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, states that a “hit and run” accident is any event that a “driver crashes into another vehicle, a pedestrian, or onto private property, then leaves without identifying himself, rendering aid, or both.” A hit and run occurrence is not only extremely disrespectful, but it’s also dangerous and illegal – the NHTSA reports that 11 out of every 100 traffic accidents throughout the U.S. are hit and run accidents. Call the Sargent Law Firm today, for help from an experienced car incident lawyer in Escondido if you were injured in a hit and run accident.
Due to hit and run accidents, in the Escondido area, 23 people were killed, with many victims injured badly just in 2014 alone. Typically a hit and run accident occurs when a vehicle hits a pedestrian or a cyclist; however, there are definitely times were a vehicle can hit and run another vehicle, this leaves the law-abiding driver confused and often frustrated with the wonder of what to do to go for help.
Where to Go For Help After a Hit & Run Occurrence
At times, the other driver will flee the accident right away. Other times, the motorist at fault will linger around before deciding to decline the procedures of exchanging info between the other drivers. If you are in a position where a hit and run has occurred, do your best to document everything you can about the scene of the accident, the driver, the vehicle, and the license plate. Now you need to provide all of the information you gathered at the scene of the accident to your local police.
In this event, California has embraced the “bright-line rule” (explained below), this rule has to do with the insurance overage after a hit and run accident and it can be an uphill battle.
Hit & Run Accidents – Uninsured Motorist Coverage
After a hit and run, only one insurance company and policy will be involved, which is of course the victim’s, having the policyholder which will be mandatory to create a claim under his/her Uninsured Motorist (UM) provisions. Adopted by the California Legislature, bright-line rules or coverage rules are rules specifically dedicated to coverage for a hit and run accident, these include:
• Both vehicles must have made physical content in the accident.
• Within 24 hours of the hit and run, the insured driver must file a police report.
• The person insured must file a statement with their insurance company before 30 days are up.
In order to make sure there isn’t a costly drain on the insurance industry every year, the legislature decided to implement such regulations to ensure that only genuine hit and run accidents are noticed. Talk to personal injury attorney Ryan Sargent about what you can do after a hit and run. This could include health insurance, uninsured motorist coverage, and other insurance overage options that could be available to you.
Don’t Hesitate to Call a Escondido Car Accident Lawyer Today!
If you were the recent victim of a dangerous hit and run accident in the Escondido area, and are unsure where to turn for help, contact the Sargent Law Firm right away: 855-209-3997