Hit and Run Accidents
A “hit and run” is defined by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) as any event when “a driver crashes into another vehicle, a pedestrian, or onto private property, then leaves without identifying himself, rendering aid, or both.” Not only is a hit and run accident dangerous, but it is also illegal, and disrespectful, accounting for 11 out of 100 traffic accidents that occur in the U.S., according to the NHTSA. If a hit and run accident changed your life, contact the Sargent Law Firm today for help from an experienced Oceanside auto accident attorney.
In 2014 there were numerous victims who sustained serious injuries, with a total of 23 individuals killed in the Oceanside area – all due to a hit and run. Many of these hit and run accident involved cards and pedestrians or cyclists, but it’s not uncommon for it to happen between two vehicles, which can leave the law obeying citizen confused and not sure where to go for help.
How Do I Go About Finding Help After A Hit & Run?
Certainly there are many times where the driver will leave the accident almost immediately. Sometimes the other driver will stay near the scene for a while before making the decision to relinquish the formalities of giving and receiving information. In any case, if the other driver decides not to exchange information, make sure that you note as much as you can about the vehicle, the license plate, its driver, and the scene of the incident. Then make sure that you call the police immediately to turn in a police report, making sure that you are proving all the information you documented to the responding officers.
At this point, it’s unfortunate that you must prepare for an uphill battle with your insurance company; in California, the “bright-line rule” (explained below) was adopted in regards to the insurance coverage after a hit and run accident.
Hit & Run Accidents – Uninsured Motorist Coverage
The policyholder is now required to make a claim under the Uninsured Motorist (UM) provisions due to the fact that in a hit and run accident, there is just one insurance company and policy involved being the victim’s. There are many coverage rules that are considered as bright-line rules, adapted by the California Legislature that apply directly to a coverage for a hit and run accident, including:
• Physical contact has to be between both vehicles in the accident.
• Within 24 hours of the hit and run, the insured driver must file a police report.
• The person insured must file a statement with their insurance company before 30 days are up.
In order to ensure that claims are only used for legitimate hit and run accidents only, these rules are implemented so that the insurance industry does not have to lose more money. Contact lawyer Ryan Sargent about the options you have for a good recovery after a hit and run accident. You have the possibility of receiving benefits like uninsured motorist coverage, health insurance, and other types of insurance coverage.
Contact an Oceanside Car Incident Lawyer Today!
Contact the Sargent Law Firm right away if you have been hit in a dangerous hit and run accident in the Oceanside area: 855-209-3997.