Lawyer in Riverside for Car Wreck with Uninsured Driver
If you have endured injuries or someone you love has endured injuries from a car crash due to a uninsured driver, what is your next step? In this event, you are fortunate that you have options that are dependent on your own automobile insurance coverage. This can be a very complicated question and is not one you should try to figure out by yourself. In this case, Ryan Sargent, car incident attorney in Riverside, can help you.
Uninsured Drivers in California – The Facts
According to California law, every driver is required to have a minimum of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in personal injury liability coverage and a minimum of $5,000 for property damage coverage. While this is the case, in 2012 there were over 4.1 million uninsured drivers, according to the Insurance Research Council, thus making California a remarkably terrible place to have an automobile accident.
Though the other driver could have insurance, the money awarded might not cover everything. Consider this situation: sitting at a red light, the car behind you ran into you. You pursue medical treatment to deal with pain, you sustain injuries, and you miss your work. Meanwhile the other driver who caused the accident was only able to cover the minimum payment of $15,000. Just your medical expenses could be worth more than that.
If you have been hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver, what can you do then?
What to do to recover damages when you have been in a car crash with an Uninsured Motorist
There are possibilities in the event that you are in a wreck with an uninsured or underinsured driver. In an amount equal to a maximum liability policy that you have in reach, you are able to purchase uninsured and underinsured vehicle coverage in California; this is also known as Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage. In the event that a person hits you and they are not insured or underinsured, this policy protects you. On a similar issue, the policy known as the Uninsured Motorist Vehicle Damage Coverage will give you the ability to protect your property.
The UM/UIM protection policy is not mandatory; therefore, you will have to check and see if you already have it on your insurance coverage. You may also be eligible to receive collision coverage that can cover any kind of property damage that happens no matter the cause. In some cases, you might have to rely on your health insurance coverages.
To go over every insurance policy to work in your favor and investigate different coverage options that can benefit you, work with accident attorney Ryan Sargent. Call us today for assistance in navigating this difficult situation. Call our toll-free number 855-209-3997.