Hit and Run Accidents in San Diego
A hit and run accident is defined by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) as any event when “a driver crashes into another vehicle, a pedestrian, or onto private property, then leaves without identifying himself, rendering aid, or both.” A hit and run occurrence is not only extremely disrespectful, but it’s also dangerous and illegal – the NHTSA reports that 11 out of every 100 traffic accidents throughout the U.S. are hit and run accidents.
In the event that you were a victim of a hit and run accident, call San Diego hit and run accident lawyer at the Sargent Law Firm today.
In the San Diego area, 23 people were killed in hit and run accidents, with many other victims injured badly just in 2014 alone. Many of these hit and run accident involved card and pedestrians or cyclists, but it’s not uncommon for it to happen between two vehicles, which can leave the law obiding citizen confused and not sure where to go for help.
What Should I Do If I’ve Been In a Hit & Run Accident in California?
Certainly there are many times where the driver will leave the accident almost immediately. In other instances, the driver who was responsible of the accident will stay around before finally opting out the procedure of exchanging information. If this does occur where the other driver does not participate, ensure that you make not about the vehicle, license plate, driver, and the scene of the accident. Then make sure that you call the police immediately to turn in a police report, making sure that you are proving all the information you documented to the responding officers.
At this point, it’s unfortunate that you must prepare for an uphill battle with your insurance company; in California, the “bright-line rule” (explained below) was adopted in regards to the insurance coverage after a hit and run accident.
Uninsured Drivers in the Case of a Hit and Run
In the case of a hit and run accident, there is the obvious occurrence that there will only be one insurance company and policy involved (the victim) – the policyholder is required to make a claim under the Uninsured Motorist (UM) provisions. There are many coverage rules that are considered as bright-line rules, adapted by the California Legislature that apply directly to a coverage for a hit and run accident, including:
• Both vehicles must have made physical content in the accident.
• The motorist that is insured have to file a police report within a 24 hour timeframe of the hit and run.
• Within 30 days of the accident, the insured has to file a claim with the insurance company.
Ultimately determined by the legislature that hit and run incidents have become a common drain in cost on the insurance industry as a whole, these rules are fulfilled to help those who are in a sincere hit and run accident. After a hit and run, call attorney Ryan Sargent to help for a fast and smooth recovery. You have the possibility of receiving benefits like uninsured motorist coverage, health insurance, and other types of insurance coverage.
Don’t Hesitate to Call a San Diego Hit and Run Accident Lawyer Today!
If you’re unsure what to do after you’ve been hurt in a hit and run accident in the San Diego area, don’t hesitate to call the Sargent Law Firm now: 855-209-3997.