Lawyer in Vista for Automobile Crash with Uninsured Driver
What do you do if you or someone you love or depend on has ended up in a wreck with an uninsured driver? Luckily, you have a few options contingent on your own car insurance coverage. This question can be difficult to answer on your own. Auto accident lawyer in Vista, Ryan Sargent, will be sure to help you.
Facts on California Uninsured Drivers
According to California law, every driver is required to have a minimum of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in personal injury liability coverage and a minimum of $5,000 for property damage coverage. California has become a place where having a car accident is an exceptionally unfortunate place; according to the Insurance Research Council, there were over 4.1 million uninsured drivers in the year 2012.
In some cases, even if the other driver does have some insurance, that monetary value may not cover everything.
Consider this situation: sitting at a red light, the car behind you ran into you. You end up with injuries, miss much needed work, and had to pursue medical treatment to deal with your suffering pain. On the other end of things, the driver who has hit you only carried the minimum of $15,000 in bodily personal liability coverage. Just your medical expenses could be worth more than that.
So what are you able to do if you are in a car crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver?
What to do to recover damages when you have been in a car crash with an Uninsured Motorist
In the situation that you are in an auto accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, you do have options. In the state of California, you are allowed to obtain uninsured and underinsured vehicular coverage (UM/UIM), known also as Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage, this gives you a value that is equal to a maximum liability policy you already carry. This kind of policy will protect you if you are in a situation where you are hits by a motorist who is not insured or underinsured. Similarly, there is another policy known as the Uninsured Motorist Vehicle Damage Coverage that will protect your own property.
However, the UM/UIM protection is not required to have, so you may have to double check to see if it is already on your policy. There is also other insurance coverage that may be available to you, such as collision coverage that will cover property damage regardless of fault. In some situations you may also have to depend on your health insurance coverage.
To go over every insurance policy to work in your favor and investigate different coverage options that can benefit you, work with accident attorney Ryan Sargent. Call us today for assistance in navigating this difficult situation. Contact us by calling 855-209-3997.